

ACP-EU JOINT PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLY

Committee on Political Affairs

MINUTES

of the meeting of 23 November 2013, 10.00 to 13.30 Addis Ababa (Ethiopia)

The meeting opened at 10.00 with Michael Gahler in the chair

1. Adoption of agenda (AP101.536)

The agenda was adopted as reflected in these minutes.

2. Approval of minutes of the meeting of 19-20 September 2013 (AP101.530)

The minutes were approved.

3. Co-Chair's announcements

The Co-Chair announced the two subjects of the workshops:

- Housing development programme to ensure urban sustainability in Ethiopia Chair: Ana Rita Sithole (Mozambique); Rapporteur: Philippe Boulland
- Micro and small enterprises development in creating job opportunities for youth and women Chair: Michael Gahler; Rapporteur: James Kembi-Gitura (Kenya)

The Co-Chair announced a newsletter highlighting the topics of the main debates. A second edition would be distributed two weeks after the session to inform readers of the results thereof.

4. The respect for the rule of law and the role of an impartial and independent judiciary Co-Rapporteurs: Dharamkumar Seeraj (Guyana) and Filip Kaczmarek

Dharamkumar Seeraj (Guyana) and Mariya Gabriel, replacing Filip Kaczmarek, presented the draft report.

Amendments adopted: 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 26, 27, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36.

PV/1004799EN.doc

Amendment rejected: 1

Amendments fallen: 24, 25, 28.

Decision: The draft report, as amended, was adopted unanimously with 21 votes in favour.

5. Draft amendments to the Rules of Procedure adopted by the Bureau (AP101.396)

• Adoption of opinion

The Committee voted on the opinion regarding amendments to the Rules of Procedure proposed by the Bureau. The Committee did not table any amendment to the amendments proposed by the Bureau and proceeded to a final vote on these amendments.

Decision: The draft opinion was adopted unanimously with 21 votes in favour.

6. The global spread of terrorism: the role of the internet and social media

- Co-rapporteurs: Moses Kollie (Liberia) and Zita Gurmai
- Consideration of draft report

Moses Kollie (Liberia) and Miguel-Angel Martínez Martínez presented the draft report.

The following spoke: Ana Gomes, Mariya Gabriel, Olle Schmidt, Abadula Gemeda Dago (Ethiopia), Christophe Lutundula (RDC), Komi Selom Klassou (Togo), Michael Gahler, Lautafi F. Selafi Purcell (Samoa), Norica Nicolai, Vincent Ringenberg (EEAS).

The Co-rapporteurs summarised the debate.

Decision: The deadline for tabling amendments was set for 12 February 2014 at noon.

7. How to make a national reconciliation process successful in post-conflict and post crisis countries

- Presentation by Kamotho Waiganjo (Advocate at the High Court of Kenya)
- Exchange of views

Kamotho Waiganjo made a presentation on how to make a national reconciliation process successful in post-conflict and post crisis countries.

The following spoke: Abdoulaye Touré (Côte d'Ivoire), Ana Gomes, Michael Gahler, Laurent Ngon-Baba (Central African Republic), Komi Selom Klassou (Togo), Mariya Christophe Lutundula (Democratic Republic of Congo), Olle Schmidt, Moses Y. Kollie (Liberia) and Kamotho Waiganjo.

8. Decision on the title of the next report

- Exchange of views

The following spoke: Mariya Gabriel, Jacob Oulanyah (Uganda), Komi Selom Klassou (Togo), Laurent Ngon-Baba (Central African Republic), Michael Gahler, Ana Gomes and Ana Rita Geremias Sithole (Mozambique).

PV/1004799EN.doc

Decision: The title of the next report will be: "The Challenge of national reconciliation in post conflict and post crisis countries".

The calendar will be: first exchange of views: 15 March 2014; consideration of draft report: September 2014; adoption of draft report: November 2014.

9. Political dialogue under Article 8 of the Cotonou Agreement

- Exchange of views with the European External Action Service

None

10. The political situation in ACP and EU Member States

- Exchange of views

Members presented the political situation in their respective countries.

The following spoke : Djae Ahamada Chanfi (Union des Comores), Laurent Ngon-Baba (Central African Republic), Christophe Lutundula (DRC) and Lucie Milebou-Abusson (Gabon).

11. Any other business

None

12. Date and place of next meeting

The next meeting will take place on 15 March 2014 in Strasbourg.

The meeting closed at 13.36

LISTE DE PRÉSENCE/RECORD OF ATTENDANCE

ACP

Purcell (Samoa) Co-Chair Hlongwane (Zimbabwe) 1st Vice Co-Chair Milebou-Aubusson (Gabon) 2nd Vice Co-Chair

Yehouetome (Benin) Ndouane (République du Congo) Toure (Côte d'Ivoire) Wais (Djibouti) Dago (Ethiopia) Usamate (Fiji) Dharamkumar (Guyana) Jackson (Jamaica) Kollie (Liberia) Tozaka (Solomon Islands) Ngon-Baba (République Centrafricaine) Dlamini (Swaziland) Klassou (Togo) Oulanyah (Uganda)

EP/PE

Gahler (EPP)

Binev (EFD) Gabriel (EPP) Gomes (S&D) Martinez Martinez (S&D) Muniz De Urquiza (S&D) Nicolai (ALDE) Schmidt (ALDE) Striffler (EPP) Vanhecke (EFD)

Also present/Également présents:

ACP

Teixera, Chilingutila (Angola), Chandler (Barbados), Houngnibo, Agnidozan (Benin), Motshome (Botswana), Ngoungoure (Cameroon), Ahamada Chanfi, Djae (Comores), Tura (Cook Islands), Toure (Cote d'Ivoire), Aratoul (Congo Brazzaville), Ibovi (Republic of Congo), Paluku, Mukendi, Boko, Lutundula, Saliboka, Otshumampita (DRC), Marichal (Cuba), Bilil, Farah, Idriss (Djibouti), Desta, Tessema, Barud, Adamu, Chacho, Daba, Toga, Wade (Ethiopia), Damas-Ozimo, Nzeh Ellang, Rissonga (Gabon), Johnson, Kabando, Aden, Kembi (Kenya), Maphike, Mokoaleri, Lebotsa, Mahase-Moiloa, Sophonia (Lesotho), Rakotomiandrisoa (Madagascar), Vuwa-Kaunda (Malawi), Fatou (Mauritanie), Mate, Manuel, Dava, Malendza (Mozambique), Naholo, Muchila (Namibia), Awanbor, Audu, Akpan, Isiyak, Tilley-Gyado (Nigeria), Luteru (Samoa), Seck (Senegal), Swart (South Africa), Yol, Opyaha, Demowol, Yokwe, Hassan, Aber (South Sudan), Hassabelrasoul, Nasreldin (Sudan), Masuku (Swaziland), Khan, Johnston, Joseph (Trinidad & Tobago), Nabbanja (Uganda), Chipare, Muchad (Zimbabwe), Mohamed (Permanent mission of AU Brussels).

European Parliament/Parlement européen

Bauer (EPP), Mayer (EPP)

Other participants/Autres participants Kamotho Waiganjo (Advocate at the High Court of Kenya).

Political groups/Groupes politiques Palassof, Vallin, Vanden Broucke, Munoa

| EU Co-Secretariat/Co-secretariat UE | ACP Co-Secretariat/Co-secretariat ACP |
|-------------------------------------|---------------------------------------|
| Pellegrims, Sourander, Pribaz | Cissé, Raymond |

Assistance Urban, Koenig

PV/1004799EN.doc